About The County Clerk's Office

Macoupin County Clerk


The County Clerk's office has six main roles

  1. Chief Election Authority for the County - The County Clerk administers all Federal, State and County elections. The Clerk is responsible for registering voters, preparing the ballots, training election judges, securing polling places and all other election related duties.

  2. Vital Records. The Clerk's office is the depository for vital records, including birth, death and marriage records occurring in Macoupin County.

  3. Tax Extensions and Delinquent Taxes - Accepts the filing of the annual budgets, levies, financial reports and boundary changes of all taxing bodies and calculates the tax rates and extensions for each unit of government. The Clerk also attends the annual tax sale, collects all delinquent and forfeited taxes, and is responsible for reimbursing the tax buyers and reporting their percentage income to the Internal Revenue Service.

  4. Manager of Payroll and Accounts Payable - The Clerk oversees the payroll and insurance of all County employees and also manages the accounts payable and billable. 

  5. Recorder of Deeds - Records all documents and records related to land/structure transactions on properties located in Macoupin County. 

  6. Clerk to the County Board - The Clerk handles filing all matters to be brought before the Board, notifying all Board members of meetings, preparing and publishing the minutes of the Board meetings and keeping accurate files of Board minutes.

In addition, the Clerk's office is also responsible for:

  1. Filing of notary public commissions
  2. Assumed Business Name certificates
  3. Statement of Economic Interest
  4. Raffle and liquor license applications

Tristrim P. Hoxey 1829-1837
John Wilson 1837
Alexander McKim Dubois 1837-1838
John A. Chestnut 1838-1849
Enoch Wall 1849-1858
George H. Holliday 1858-1869
Thomas M. Metcalf 1869-1877
Casper Westermeier Jr. 1877-1886
William B. Dugger 1886-1890
John B. Vaughn 1890-1894
Fred G. Oeltjen 1894-1898
Orin C. Hartley 1898-1902
W. C. Seehausen 1902-1914
J. A. Blaeuer 1914-1918
Ernest Whitler 1918-1922
Bert B. Wilson 1922-1920
Peter J. Caveny 1930-1936
Al P. Westermeier 1936-1938
Elmer W. Weilder 1938-1943
Denby R. Boring 1943-1954
Arthur Folkerts 1954
Robert G. Fritz, Sr. 1954-1958
Edward Young 1958-1975
Raymond J. Vernetti 1975-1982
John J. Saracco 1982-2002
Michele A. Zippay 2002-2010
Pete Duncan 2010-Present

© 2021 Macoupin County Clerk

201 E Main St, P.O. Box 107, Carlinville, IL 62626  P: (217) 854-3214

Powered By Revize Login